Seven Players With State Ties Make Two Major All-America Teams

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Two major college football All-America teams were released on Monday, honoring seven different players with ties to the state of Oklahoma.

The Associated Press and the Football Writers Association of America, two of the five major teams recognized by the NCAA, both released their postseason honors.

The Associated Press All-America football team had six players with ties to Oklahoma made the three teams.

Four Sooners made the list, including two on the first team:   OU quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray and Sooner wide receiver Marquise Brown.

OU guard Dru Samia made second team and tackle Cody Ford made third team.

Oklahoma State wide receiver Tylan Wallace made second team.

Texas A&M tight end Jace Sternberger made the first team.

Sternberger played in high school at Kingfisher.

The Football Writers Association of America had Murray,  OU guard Ben Powers, and Sternberger on the first team.

Marquise Brown made the FWAA’s second team.

ESPN released its All-America team as well, although it’s not officially recognized by the NCAA.

Murray, Brown and Wallace all made the ESPN team, which consisted of just a first team.

Here’s the complete list of the three teams of AP All-Americans:



Quarterback — Kyler Murray, junior, Oklahoma

Running backs — Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin; Darrell Henderson, junior, Memphis

Tackles — Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson

Guards — Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Bunchy Stallings, senior, Kentucky

Center — Garrett Bradbury, senior, North Carolina State

Tight end — Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M

Wide receivers — Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama; Marquise Brown, junior, Oklahoma

All-purpose player — Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue

Kicker — Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse


Ends — Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson; Sutton Smith, junior, Northern Illinois

Tackles — Quinnen Williams, junior, Alabama; Christian Wilkins, senior, Clemson

Linebackers — Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky; Devin White, junior, LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington

Cornerbacks — Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia; Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame

Safeties — Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU; Deionte Thompson, junior, Alabama

Punter — Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M



Quarterback — Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama

Running backs — Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson; Trayveon Williams, junior, Texas A&M

Tackles — Dalton Risner, senior, Kansas State; Andrew Thomas, sophomore, Georgia

Guards — Dru Samia, senior, Oklahoma; Michael Dieter, senior, Wisconsin

Center — Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama

Tight end — T.J, Hockenson, sophomore, Iowa

Wide receivers — Tylan Wallace, sophomore, Oklahoma State; Andy Isabella, senior, Massachusetts

All-purpose player — Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest

Kicker — Cole Tracy, senior, LSU


Ends — Montez Sweat, senior, Mississippi State; Jachai Polite, junior, Florida

Tackles — Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame; Gerald Willis III, senior, Miami

Linebackers — Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; David Long Jr., junior, West Virginia; Joe Dineen, senior, Kansas

Cornerbacks — Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU; Byron Murphy, sophomore, Washington

Safeties — Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington; Amani Hooker, junior, Iowa

Punter — Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah



Quarterbacks — Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State

Running backs — Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky; Eno Benjamin, sophomore, Arizona State

Tackles — Andre Dillard, senior, Washington State; Cody Ford, junior, Oklahoma

Guards — Terrone Prescod, senior, North Carolina State; Chris Lindstrom, senior, Boston College

Center — Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State

Tight end — Noah Fant, junior, Iowa

Wide Receivers — A.J. Brown, junior, Mississippi; David Sills V, senior, West Virginia

All-purpose player — J.J. Taylor, sophomore, Arizona

Kicker — Matt Gay, senior, Utah


Ends — Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan; Jaylon Ferguson, senior, Louisiana Tech

Tackles — Jeffery Simmons, junior, Mississippi State; Ed Oliver, junior, Houston

Linebackers — Paddy Fisher, sophomore, Northwestern; David Woodward, sophomore, Utah State; Te’Von Coney, senior, Notre Dame

Cornerbacks — Hamp Cheevers, junior, Boston College; Lavert Hill, junior, Michigan

Safeties — Andre Cisco, freshman, Syracuse; Jonathan Abram, senior, Mississippi State

Punter — Jason Smith, sophomore, Cincinnati

Here are the two teams of  All-Americans according to the Football Writers Association of America:

QB Kyler Murray, Oklahoma 5-10 195 Jr. Allen, Texas
RB Darrell Henderson, Memphis 5-9 205 Jr. Batesville, Miss.
RB Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin 5-11 221 So. Salem, N.J.
WR Andy Isabella, Massachusetts 5-10 190 Sr. Mayfield, Ohio
WR Antoine Wesley, Texas Tech 6-5 200 Jr. Las Vegas, Nev.
TE Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M 6-4 250 Jr. Kingfisher, Okla.
OL Michael Deiter, Wisconsin 6-6 310 Sr. Curtice, Ohio
OL Mitch Hyatt, Clemson 6-5 310 Sr. Suwanee, Ga.
OL Ben Powers, Oklahoma 6-4 313 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
OL Jonah Williams, Alabama 6-5 301 Jr. Folsom, Calif.
C Garrett Bradbury, N.C. State 6-3 300 Gr. Charlotte, N.C.
DL Ed Oliver, Houston 6-3 292 Jr. Houston, Texas
DL Montez Sweat, Mississippi State 6-6 245 Sr. Stone Mountain, Ga.
DL Christian Wilkins, Clemson 6-4 315 Gr. Springfield, Mass.
DL Quinnen Williams, Alabama 6-4 295 So. Birmingham, Ala.
LB Josh Allen, Kentucky 6-5 260 Sr. Montclair, N.J.
LB Ben Burr-Kirven, Washington 6-0 221 Sr. Menlo Park, Calif.
LB Devin Bush, Michigan 5-11 233 Jr. Pembroke Pines, Fla.
DB Hamp Cheevers, Boston College 5-10 180 Jr. Trenton, Fla.
DB Grant Delpit, LSU 6-3 203 So. Houston, Texas
DB Julian Love, Notre Dame 5-11 193 Jr. Westchester, Ill.
DB Greedy Williams, LSU 6-3 184 So. Shreveport, La.
K Andre Szmyt, Syracuse 6-1 195 Fr. Vernon Hills, Ill.
P Braden Mann, Texas A&M 5-11 190 Jr. Houston, Texas
KR Savon Scarver, Utah State 5-11 185 So. Las Vegas, Nev.
PR Greg Dortch, Wake Forest 5-9 170 So. Richmond, Va.
AP Rondale Moore, Purdue 5-9 175 Fr. New Albany, Ind.
Offense: QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama; RB Eno Benjamin, Arizona State; RB Travis Etienne, Clemson; WR A.J. Brown, Ole Miss; WR Marquise Brown, Oklahoma; TE T.J. Hockenson, Iowa; OL Yodny Cajuste, West Virginia; OL Greg Little, Ole Miss; OL Dalton Risner, Kansas State; OL Calvin Throckmorton, Oregon; C Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame. Defense: DL Jaylon Ferguson, Louisiana Tech; DL Sutton Smith, NIU; DL Kenny Willekes, Michigan State; DL Gerald Willis, Miami; LB Chase Hansen, Utah; LB Tre Watson, Maryland; LB Devin White, LSU; DB Paulson Adebo, Stanford; DB Deandre Baker, Georgia; DB Bryce Hall, Virginia; DB Deionte Thompson, Alabama. Specialists: K Matt Gay, Utah; P James Smith, Cincinnati; KR Deebo Samuel, South Carolina; PR Michael Walker, Boston College; AP Pooka Williams, Kansas.



More Local

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

In Your Corner

More In Your Corner

Oklahoma High School Scores

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter