State Baseball Teams Earn Big 12 Awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

With the Big 12 Baseball Tournament set to start on Wednesday at the Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City, the conference announced its postseason all-conference team and individual awards on Tuesday.

Oklahoma State earned two of the individual awards, with Josh Holliday named the Big 12 Coach of the Year and junior outfielder Zach Fish the Big 12 Player of the Year. 

The coaching honor is the first in the Big 12 era for OSU, while Fish becomes the second Cowboy player to win Big 12 Player of the Year honors, joining Tyler Mach, who was the co-winner in 2006.

Holliday led OSU to their first regular season Big 12 title, winning seven of eight conference series on the way to an 18-6 league record.

Fish hit .321 with 10 home runs and ranks third in the conference in totals bases and slugging percentage and second in homers.

Oklahoma infielder Sheldon Neuse is the Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

Neuse is the only freshman in the league’s top 10 for home runs, doubles, RBI, total bases, and slugging percentage.

Neuse is the second Sooner to earn the freshman honor, joining Garrett Buechele in 2009.

OSU had six players make first or second team All-Big 12, with five first-teamers and one on the second team.

OU had two first-team selections and one second team.

Each state school had two players make the Big 12 All-Freshman Team.

Oklahoma and Oklahoma State will face off in the first round of the Big 12 Tournament Wednesday at 4:00 at the Bricktown Ballpark.

OSU has never beaten OU in the Big 12 Tournament, losing all eight meetings since the conference’s first season in baseball in 1997.

The tournament is double-elimination, with the winner of two four-team brackets advancing to the championship game on Sunday.

Here is the complete list of the postseason Big 12 honors:


Player of the Year: Zach Fish, Oklahoma State
Pitcher of the Year: Preston Morrison, TCU
Newcomer of the Year: Adam Kirsch, Texas Tech
Freshman of the Year: Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year: Josh Holliday, Oklahoma State
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Gage Green, Oklahoma State C Jr. Wichita Falls, Texas/Rider
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma* INF Fr. Fort Worth, Texas/Keller Fossil Ridge
Donnie Walton, Oklahoma State* INF So. Tulsa, Okla./Bishop Kelley
Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech INF So. Mission, Texas/Sharyland
Tim Proudfoot, Texas Tech INF Jr. North Bend, Wash./Mount Si
Billy Fleming, West Virginia INF Jr. Churchville, Pa./Council Rock South
Zach Fish, Oklahoma State^ OF Jr. Kalamazoo, Mich./Gull Lake
Boomer White, TCU OF So. Houston, Texas/Memorial
Mark Payton, Texas^# OF Sr. Chicago, Illinois/St. Rita
Bobby Boyd, West Virginia OF Jr. Silver Spring, Md./St. John’s College HS
Adam Kirsch, Texas Tech** DH Sr. Spring, Texas/FIU
Mac James, Oklahoma UTL Jr. New Braunfels, Texas/Brookhaven College
Frank Duncan, Kansas# RHP Sr. San Francisco, Calif./Stuart Hall
Jon Perrin, Oklahoma State RHP Jr. Olathe, Kan./Olathe East
Brandon Finnegan, TCU* LHP Jr. Fort Worth, Texas/Southwest
Preston Morrison, TCU*^ RHP Jr. Waxhaw, N.C./Cuthbertson
Josh Michalec, Baylor RHP Sr. Houston, Texas/Memorial
Brendan McCurry, Oklahoma State* RHP Sr. Tupelo, Okla./Howard Junior College
Vince Wheeland, Oklahoma State*^ RHP Sr. Turlock, Calif./Turlock
Riley Ferrell, TCU* RHP So. College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Ka’iana Eldredge, Kansas C Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii/Punahou
Hunter Redman, Texas Tech C Jr. Midland, Texas/Midland College
Colby Wright, Kansas INF So. Castro Valley, Calif./Castro Valley
Tim Arakawa, Oklahoma State INF Jr. Honolulu, Hawaii/Yavapai Community College
Kevin Cron, TCU INF Jr. Phoenix, Ariz./Mountain Pointe
Derek Odell, TCU INF Jr. Canyon, Texas/Canyon
Brooks Marlow, Texas INF Jr. Giddings, Texas/Giddings
Ryan McBroom, West Virginia+ INF Sr. Fredericksburg, Va./Courtland
Ross Kivett, Kansas State^ UTL Sr. Broadview Heights, Ohio/St. Edwards
Craig Aikin, Oklahoma OF So. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Michael Suiter, Kansas+ OF Jr. Kailua, Hawaii/Punahou
Tyler Neslony, Texas Tech OF So. Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Connor McKay, Kansas** DH Jr. Parker, Colo./Regis Jesuit
Tyler Alexander, TCU LHP Fr. Southlake, Texas/Southlake Carroll
Nathan Thornhill, Texas RHP Sr. Cedar Park, Texas/Cedar Park
Chris Sadberry, Texas Tech LHP Jr. Holliday, Texas/Grayson County
Harrison Musgrave, West Virginia^ LHP Jr. Nutter Fort, W.Va./Bridgeport
Chad Hollingsworth, Texas RHP So. Waco, Texas/Robinson
Honorable Mention: Baylor – Adam Toth; Kansas – Robert Kahana, Jordan Piche, Justin Protacio, Tucker Tharp, Dakota Smith, Stephen Villines; Oklahoma – Austin O’Brien, Hunter Haley; Oklahoma State – Tanner Krietemeier, Craig McConaughy; TCU – Kyle Bacak, Garrett Crain, Dylan Fitzgerald, Cody Jones, Keaton Jones; Texas – Ben Johnson; Texas Tech – Bryant Burleson, Jonny Drozd, Cameron Smith; West Virginia – Sean Carley, John Means, Taylor Munden, Cam O’Brien, Ross Vance
Ties in voting created four first team relief pitchers, four first team outfielders, two second team catchers, and six second team infielders.
* Unanimous Choice
^2013 First Team Honoree
+2013 Second Team Honoree
#2012 Second Team Honoree
**Each DH was selected as a unanimous choice with Kirsch earning first team honors based on the weight of the votes.
Name, School Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Daniel Castano, Baylor LHP Austin, Texas/Lake Travis
Stephen Villines, Kansas RHP Lake Forest, Calif./El Toro
Tanner DeVinny, Kansas State DH Lucas, Texas/Lovejoy
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma* INF/RHP Fort Worth, Texas/Keller Fossil Ridge
Austin O’Brien, Oklahoma INF Owasso, Okla./Owasso
Blake Battenfield, Oklahoma State RHP Claremore, Okla./Verdigris
Tyler Buffett, Oklahoma State RHP Albuquerque, N.M./Albuquerque Academy
Tyler Alexander, TCU* LHP Southlake, Texas/Southlake Carroll
Tres Barrera, Texas C Eagle Pass, Texas/Mission Sharyland
Morgan Cooper, Texas RHP Jarrell, Texas/Jarrell
Zane Gurwitz, Texas INF San Antonio, Texas/Churchill
Stephen Smith, Texas Tech OF Wolfforth, Texas/Frenship




More Featured Stories

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News

Latest News

More News

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original


Follow @KFOR on Twitter