Two Sooners Finalists for Major Awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A pair of Oklahoma football players are one of three finalists for three major national college football awards.

OU quarterback Baker Mayfield is a finalist for both the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien Award, while receiver Dede Westbrook is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

The Maxwell Award goes to the nation’s top college football player, while the Davey O’Brien Award goes the nation’s top quarterback, and the Biletnikoff Award to the top receiver.

All three awards will have the winner announced on December 8.

Mayfield leads the nation in passing efficiency and is second in completion percentage.

Past Oklahoma Davey O’Brien Award winners are Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Sam Bradford (2008). White won the Maxwell Award in 2004 and Tommy McDonald did it in 1956.

Westbrook leads all Power 5 conference schools in receiving yards, receiving yards per game, and receiving touchdowns.

No OU player has ever won the Biletnikoff Award, which began in 1994.

Maxwell Award Finalists

Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville
Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma
Jabrill Peppers, Athlete, Michigan
Davey O’Brien Award Finalists
Lamar Jackson, Louisville
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Deshaun Watson, Clemson
Biletnikoff Award Finalists
Austin Carr, WR, Northwestern
Isaiah “Zay” Jones, WR, East Carolina
Dede Westbrook, WR, Oklahoma

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original


Follow @KFOR on Twitter

Border Report

More Border Report