Two State Players Among Semifinalists for Jim Thorpe Award

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Two players from the Big 12, both from the state of Oklahoma, are among the list of 16 players who have been named semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Oklahoma cornerback Zack Sanchez and Oklahoma State cornerback Kevin Peterson are the only two from the Big 12 conference who made the cut.

The Jim Thorpe Award goes to the nation’s top defensive back, and has been presented every year since 1986.

The 16 semifinalists will be trimmed to three finalists on November 23, then the winner will be announced on December 10.

The award itself will be presented, as it is annually, in Oklahoma City on February 2, 2016.


Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ
graphic of the Red Cross

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter