Cowboys and Sooners Earn All-Big 12 Baseball Honors


OU/OSU Logos

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The All-Big 12 baseball awards were announced on Monday as voted on by the league’s coaches, with both Oklahoma and Oklahoma State represented on the first team.

Infielder Christian Encarnacion-Strand was named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and was named first team All-Big 12.

He was joined on the first team by his teammate, pitcher and utility player Justin Campbell.

Oklahoma first baseman Tyler Hardman was named first team All-Big 12 as well.

The Big 12 Baseball Tournament starts Tuesday at the Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City.

Here is the complete list of the All-Big 12 awards:

Player of the Year: Jace Jung, Texas Tech, Fr., INF, San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
Pitcher of the Year: Ty Madden, Texas, R-So., RHP, Cypress, Texas/Cypress Ranch
Newcomer of the Year: Christian Encarnacion-Strand, Oklahoma State, So., INF, Pleasant Hill, Calif./Yavapi Junior College
Freshman of the Year: Brayden Taylor, TCU, Fr., INF, West Jordan, Utah/Copper Hills
Coach of the Year: David Pierce, Texas

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Andy Thomas, Baylor^& C Jr. Murrieta, Calif./Murrieta
Tyler Hardman, Oklahoma@ INF R-Jr. Corona, Calif./Temescal
Christian Encarnacion-Strand, Oklahoma State* INF So. Pleasant Hill, Calif./Yavapi Junior College
Mitchell Daly, Texas INF Fr. Madison, Ala./Bob Jones
Cal Conley, Texas Tech INF R-Fr. Mount Carmel, Ohio/West Clement
Jace Jung, Texas Tech INF Fr. San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
Jared McKenzie, Baylor OF Fr. Round Rock, Texas/Round Rock
Phillip Sikes, TCU OF Jr. Paris, Texas/Pima Community College
Dru Baker, Texas Tech OF So. Tomball, Texas/Memorial
Justin Campbell, Oklahoma State UTL/RHP Fr. Simi Valley, Calif./Simi Valley
Ivan Melendez, Texas* DH R-So. El Paso, Texas/Coronado
Jordan Wicks, Kansas State+ LHP So. Conway, Ark./Conway
Ty Madden, Texas RHP R-So. Cypress, Texas/Cypress Ranch
Tristan Stevens, Texas RHP R-Jr. Springfield, Mo./Maple Woods Junior College
Luke Boyd, Baylor RHP Sr. Ojai, Calif./Nordhoff
Haylen Green, TCU LHP Sr. Lufkin, Texas/Lufkin

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Braxton Fulford, Texas Tech@ C Jr. Lubbock, Texas/Monterey
Skyler Messinger, Kansas INF R-Jr. Niwot, Colo./Niwot
Peyton Graham, Oklahoma INF R-Fr. Waxahachie, Texas/Waxahachie
Brayden Taylor, TCU INF Fr. West Jordan, Utah/Copper Hills
Gene Wood, TCU INF R-Sr. Flowood, Miss./Alabama
Cam Williams, Texas INF R-Jr. Odessa, Fla./San Jacinto College
Zach Kokoska, Kansas State@ OF Jr. Latrobe, Pa./Virginia Tech
Dylan Phillips, Kansas State OF/UTL So. Omaha, Neb./Creighton Prepatory School
Mike Antico, Texas OF R-Sr. Colts Neck, N.J./St. John’s
Hunter Wolfe, TCU DH R-Sr. Kingsport, Tenn./Walters State Community College
Tyler Thomas, Baylor LHP Jr. Keller, Texas/Keller
Austin Krob, TCU LHP So. Lisbon, Iowa/Kirkwood Community College
Russell Smith, TCU LHP R-So. Midlothian, Texas/Midlothian
Micah Dallas, Texas Tech% RHP So. Aubrey, Texas/Homeschool
Jackson Wolf, West Virginia LHP Sr. Gahanna, Ohio/Gahanna Lincoln
Jason Ruffcorn, Oklahoma+ RHP R-Sr. Cedar Park, Texas/Texas A&M
Brett Standlee, Oklahoma State% RHP So. Jenks, Okla./Jenks

Baylor – Hayden Kettler, Jack Pineda, Tre Richardson; Kansas – Maui Ahuna, Dylan Ditzenberger; Tavian Josenberger, Jonah Ulane; Kansas State –
Chris Ceballos, Tyler Eckberg, Nick Goodwin, Cameron Thompson; Oklahoma – Conor McKenna, Brett Squires, Brandon Zaragoza; Oklahoma State

  • Cade Cabiness, Max Hewitt, Carson McCusker, Parker Scott, Jake Thompson, Caeden Trenkle; TCU – Zach Humphreys, Gray Rodgers; Texas – Silas
    Ardoin, Trey Faltine, Pete Hansen, Douglas Hodo III, Aaron Nixon, Tanner Witt, Zach Zubia; Texas Tech – Patrick Monteverde, Ryan Sublette; West
    Virginia – Austin Davis, Paul McIntosh.
    Voting is weighted. Ties in voting created an additional second-team starting pitcher.
  • Unanimous Choice ^2019 First Team Honoree +2019 Second Team Honoree @2019 Honorable Mention

%2019 All-Freshman Team &2018 Second Team Honoree

Name, School Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Tavian Josenberger, Kansas OF Kansas City, Mo./Park Hill
Nick Goodwin, Kansas State INF Overland Park, Kan./St. Thomas Aquinas
Jace Bohrofen, Oklahoma OF Oklahoma City, Okla./Westmoore
Trevor Martin, Oklahoma State RHP Asher, Okla./Asher
Elijah Nunez, TCU OF Arlington, Texas/Arlington Martin
River Ridings, TCU* LHP Plano, Texas/Prestonwood Christian Academy
Brayden Taylor, TCU* INF West Jordan, Utah/Copper Hills
Mitchell Daly, Texas* INF Madison, Ala./Bob Jones
Aaron Nixon, Texas RHP/INF McAllen, Texas/McAllen
Tanner Witt, Texas* RHP/INF Houston, Texas/Episcopal
Ben Hampton, West Virginia LHP De Pere, Wis./West De Pere
Mikey Kluska, West Virginia INF White Sulphur Springs, W.Va./IMG Academy

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News

Follow @KFOR on Twitter