OK Sports Hall of Fame 2014 Class Announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame class of 2014 is a star studded one featuring everything from our states best in football, basketball, and even rodeo.

One of the 6 new members is former OU quarterback and Eufala native JC Watts. Watts, a former congressman, led the Sooners to 2 consecutive Big Eight Titles and Orange Bowl victories in 1980 and 1981. Watts was also named Most Valuable Player in both Orange Bowl wins.

Former Oklahoma State standout defensive lineman Leslie O'Neal is the other football inductee into the Hall of Fame. O'Neal was a two time All-American at OSU. O'Neal nabbed a Big Eight Defensive Player of the Year award in addition to being All-Big Eight each of the three seasons he started.

Former rodeo star Roy Cooper adds another notch in his belt of halls of fame, literally. Cooper is already a member of the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame, the National Cowboy Hall of Fame, and is now a member of the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame. Nicknamed "Super Looper" for his abilities with a rope, Looper attended Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Cooper earned 8 individual world championships over his career.

Mayor Mick Cornett is also being enshrined. Cornett's vision helped start the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame. He's also instrumental in bringing the Oklahoma City Thunder to the state of Oklahoma.

Former Southeast High School two sport standout Darrell Porter is being inducted posthumously. Porter excelled in football and baseball. He was an All-State QB in 1969 and the State Baseball Player of the Year in 1970. Porter chose to play baseball and was a catcher for the Brewers, Royals, Cardinals and Rangers. He played in 3 World Series, winning MVP in the 1982 Fall Classic.

Former Sooner basketball star Gerald Tucker closes out the impressive Class of 2014. Tucker, who is also being inducted posthumously, was a two time All-American at OU in 1943 and 1947. He was the Head Coach of the Olympic Men's Basketball gold medal team in 1956. A Naismith Award winner, Tucker, was named to the Final Four all-1940's team.

The four living inductees shared their thoughts on such a prestigious honor in the video above.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Oklahoma High School Scores

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter