Oklahoma Schools Dominate All-Big 12 Softball Awards


Oklahoma and Oklahoma State dominated the postseason All-Big 12 softball awards announced by the league’s coaches on Wednesday.

Oklahoma won four of the five individual awards, with Patty Gasso named Coach of the Year, Jocelyn Alo named Player of the Year, Tiare Jennings Freshman of the Year, and Grace Lyons Defensive Player of the Year.

Oklahoma State’s Carrie Eberle was named Big 12 Pitcher of the Year.

The coaching award is the ninth in row for Gasso and her 13th overall.

Alo makes it 13 times a Sooner has been named Big 12 Player of the Year, and the fifth time in the last six years, and 10 of the last 13.

Jennings’ selection makes it six straight for OU to win the Freshman of the Year honor and the ninth time overall.

Lyons’ pick is the third in a row for OU as Defensive Player of the Year and four of the last five, plus the eighth time overall in the 14 seasons the award has been given out.

Eberle is OSU’s first ever Big 12 Pitcher of the Year, and it ends a string of five straight by the Sooners.

On the All-Big 12 first team, five Sooners and four Cowgirls made the team, taking all but three spots on the 12-player first team.

Coach of the Year: Patty Gasso, Oklahoma (27th season)
Player of the Year: Jocelyn Alo, Oklahoma (Sr., UTL)
Pitcher of the Year: Carrie Eberle, Oklahoma State* (Sr.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Grace Lyons, Oklahoma (Jr., SS)
Freshman of the Year: Tiare Jennings, Oklahoma* (2B)

Name, School Yr. Pos.
Sami Williams, Iowa State* Sr. INF
Jocelyn Alo, Oklahoma* Sr. UTL
Jayda Coleman, Oklahoma Fr. OH
Tiare Jennings, Oklahoma Fr. 2B
Grace Lyons, Oklahoma Jr. SS
Shannon Saile, Oklahoma* Sr. P
Hayley Busby, Oklahoma State Sr. INF
Carrie Eberle, Oklahoma State* Sr. P/DP
Kelly Maxwell, Oklahoma State* So. P
Kiley Naomi, Oklahoma State Jr. INF
Janae Jeff erson, Texas* Jr. INF
Mary Iakopo, Texas Jr. C/UTL

Name, School Yr. Pos.
Lou Gilbert, Baylor Jr. UTL
Emily Hott, Baylor So. UTL
Mikayla Ramos, Iowa State Jr. C
Morgyn Wynne, Kansas Jr. INF
Mackenzie Donihoo, Oklahoma So. UTL
Lynnsie Elam, Oklahoma Sr. C/DP
Giselle Juarez, Oklahoma Sr. P
Chelsea Alexander, Oklahoma State Sr. OF
Chyenne Factor, Oklahoma State Jr. OF
Alysen Febrey, Oklahoma State Sr. INF
Shealyn O’Leary, Texas So. P
Shannon Rhodes, Texas Sr. OF

Name, School Pos.
Milaysia Ochoa, Iowa State* OF
Kasey Hamilton, Kansas P/UTL
Jayda Coleman, Oklahoma* OF
Tiare Jennings, Oklahoma* 2B
Nicole May, Oklahoma* P
JJ Smith, Texas* C/1B
Alyssa Washington, Texas* SS/INF
Jordyn Whitaker, Texas DP/FB
Riley Love, Texas Tech* INF
Arriana Pecan Villa, Texas Tech INF

Honorees listed alphabetically by school.
Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes

  • Unanimous Selection

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News


Follow @KFOR on Twitter