Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame Adds 6

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Oklahoma’s most prestigious sports honor has officially added six new members to the fold.

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame inducted former Oklahoma Quarterback J.C. Watts, former OSU Defensive Tackle Leslie O’Neal, Mayor Mick Cornett, rodeo star Roy Cooper, and posthumously inducts former baseball catcher Darrell Porter as well as former OU baksetball star Gerald Tucker.

JC Watts was born in Eufala, Oklahoma and quarterbacked the Sooners to two straight Orange Bowl victories in the 80’s.

Originally from Arkansas, OSU lineman Leslie O’Neal had a stellar career as a Cowboys leaving the school 10th all time in tackles when he graduated.

Mayor Mick Cornett joins this impressive class for a plethora of reasons. Cornett spent many years as a sports broadcaster and founded the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

Rodeo star Roy Cooper, a graduate of Southeastern Oklahoma State, earned 8 career individual rodeo world championships in a career that spanned over five decades.

The late Darrell Porter joins the ranks out of Southeast High School where he was a two sport star. Porter chose to play baseball and eventually won the 1982 World Series MVP. Bob Barry Jr. interviewed Porter’s mom and former coach in 1982 right after he won that MVP award. The story can be seen in the video above.

The late Gerald Tucker, originally from Kansas, is inducted after playing basketball at OU. Tucker was a two time all american as well as the 1947 college player of the year. Tucker also coached the 1956 men’s Olympic team to a gold medal.

All 4 remaining members were throughly honored to be enshrined into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and shared their thoughts and memories of their time in Oklahoma in exclusive interviews with KFOR.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News

National News

More U.S. & World

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Daily Oklahoma Coronavirus Data


Contact In Your Corner Team

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original

Follow @KFOR on Twitter