LSU’s Joe Burrow Wins Heisman Trophy, OU’s Jalen Hurts Second

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow was named the winner of the 2019 Heisman Trophy as the nation’s outstanding player on Saturday night in New York City.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts finished second, with Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard finishing 8th in the final voting.

Burrow set Heisman records for highest percentage of points possible, highest percentage of first place votes, highest percentage of appearances on ballots and for the largest margin of votes in Heisman history, breaking the old record set by O.J. Simpson in 1968.

Burrow led LSU to a 13-0 season and a spot in the College Football Playoff.

The Tigers will face Oklahoma in the Peach Bowl CFP semifinal on December 28 in Atlanta.

“It’s an honor to stand on the same stage as all of these guys,” said an emotional Burrow after hearing his name called. “I’m so thankful to have played for two of the best programs in the country. I wouldn’t have traded my journey for anything.”

Burrow is the second LSU player to win the trophy and first since the late Billy Cannon did so in 1959. His Heisman triumph makes him the third-consecutive transfer player to win the award (and seventh overall), though he is the first to do so under the NCAA’s graduate transfer rule.

The 6-4, 216-pounder from Athens, Ohio, had an extraordinary season, passing for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns (tying a Heisman record), while adding another 289 yard and three scores on the ground. He had a remarkable completion percentage of 77.9 percent, the best in Heisman history. As the field general for the nation’s top offense, he led No. 1 LSU to a 13-0 record, the SEC title (its first since 2011), and its first berth in the College Football Playoff.

Here are the voting totals for the four Heisman Trophy finalists:

Finish Player Pos. School Total points 1st 2nd 3rd
1. Joe Burrow QB LSU 2,608 841 41 3
2. Jalen Hurts QB Oklahoma 762 12 231 264
3. Chase Young DE Ohio State 747 6 271 187
4. Justin Fields QB Ohio State 643 20 205 173

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard finished eighth in the Heisman voting.

It’s the second time in history both an OU and OSU player finish in the top ten in the Heisman Trophy voting.

The other occurrence was 2017 when OU’s Baker Mayfield won the award and OSU’s Mason Rudolph finished seventh.

Oklahoma has had 18 players finish in the top three of Heisman Trophy voting, the most of any school in the nation.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Daily Oklahoma Coronavirus Data

Contact In Your Corner Team

Oklahoma High School Scores

Latest News

More News

KFOR Digital Originals

More Digital Original


Follow @KFOR on Twitter

Border Report

More Border Report