Two OU Sooners make the Heisman finalist list

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

The 2016 Heisman Trophy finalists include two Oklahoma Sooners.

Quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook are in the top five.

Also on the list are University of Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, University of Michigan Linebacker/defensive back Jabrill Peppers and Clemson quarterback Deshan Watson.

The Heisman Trophy will be presented at 7 Saturday in New York City.

Mayfield leads the nation in passing efficiency, completion percentage and yards per pass attempt.

Westbrook leads all Power 5 conference teams in receiving touchdowns per game and receiving yards.

This is the first time one school has had two Heisman Trophy finalists since 2004, when OU had both Adrian Peterson and Jason White and USC had both Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart.

The Heisman Trophy first began having finalists in 1982.

Since then, OU has had the second most finalists among all schools with eight, one behind Miami, Florida's nine.

If you count the pre-finalist era Heisman winners, plus the finalists since 1982, Oklahoma has the most with 13.

Latest News

More News

National News

More National

Washington D.C.

More Washington DC Bureau

Your Local Election HQ

More Your Local Election HQ

Oklahoma High School Scores

Don't Miss

Latest News

More News


KFOR Podcasts

More Podcasts

Follow @KFOR on Twitter